

Delegation visit from THE UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA College of Arts and Sciences May 5, 2015

Guest Delegation from the University of Alabama:

- Head of the delegation: Assoc. Prof. Tatiana Tsakiropoulou Summers, Dept. of Modern Languages & Classics, UA
- Dr. Ian Brown, Chair and Professor, Department of Anthropology
- Dr. James (Andy) Crank, Assistant Professor, Department of English
- Dr. Memorie Gosa, Assistant Professor, Department of Communicative Disorders
- Dr. Samantha Hansen, Assistant Professor, Department of Geological Sciences
- Dr. Jeffrey Melton, Associate Professor, Department of American Studies
- Dr. Kevin Shaughnessy, Chair and Professor, Department of Chemistry

PROGRAM

Tuesday 5.5.2015

Senate Hall, (University Campus, Administration Building, 7th floor)

11.00 a.m.: Welcome ceremony

11.00 -12.00 a.m.: Welcome speeches by:

Prof. Ariadni Stogiannidou, School of Psychology, Vice - Rector for Academic and Student

Affairs - Presentation of AUTh (film presentation)

Assoc. Prof. Tatiana Tsakiropoulou - Summers, Dept. of Modern Languages & Classics,

UA

Prof. Spyros Pavlides, Former Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, AUTh

12.00 - 14.00 p.m.: Presentations of the proposed research activities of the guests with their matching AUTh scholars:

• Dr. Ian Brown, Chair and Professor, Department of Anthropology – Prof. Konstantinos Kotsakis, Chair of History and Archaeology,

Prof. Spyros Pavlides, Former Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, AUTh

Prof. Matoula Skaltsa, School of Architecture, D Section Department of History of Architecture, Art History, Architectural Morphology and Restoration, Director of the Interuniversity Graduate Program "Museology" of AUTh and the University of Western Macedonia

 Dr. James (Andy) Crank, Assistant Professor, Department of English -Assoc. Prof. Youli Theodosiadou, American Literature and Culture, School of English Language and Literature

- Dr. Memorie Gosa, Assistant Professor, Department of Communicative Disorders -Prof. Vasiliki Drossou – Agakidou, Director of the 1st Neontal Department and Neontal Intensive Care, School of Medicine, Ippokrateion General Hospital of Thessaloniki Lect. Michael Chourdakis, School of Medicine
- Dr. Samantha Hansen, Assistant Professor, Department of Geological Sciences Prof. Grigoris Tsokas, Chair of Geology
 Prof. Konstantinos Papazachos, Head of the Department of Geophysics, School of Geology
- Dr. Jeffrey Melton, Associate Professor, Department of American Studies Assoc. Prof. Stella Kostopoulou, School of Economics
- Dr. Kevin Shaughnessy, Chair and Professor, Department of Chemistry Prof. Achilleas Ppoutsis, Chair of the School of Chemistry

Prof. Evdoxia Koutouli – Argyropoulou, Director of the Laboratory of Organic Chemistry – Head of the Department of Chemistry

Prof. Konstantinos Litinas, School of Chemistry

Assoc, Prof. Alexandros Koumbis, School of Chemistry

Assist. Prof. Ioannis Lykakis, School of Chemistry

14.30 p.m.: Lunch offered at the VIP Hall of the University's Restaurant

17.00 p.m.: Tour of the Aristotle campus